Did You Know Each Astrological Sign Has Their Own Tarot Card?

Capricorns are in for quite the shock!

Tarot and astrology go had in hand as they’re each popular Western methods of divination. Astrology relies on the positioning of the planets, sun and moon in relation to someone’s time of birth. On the other hand, tarot uses a deck of 78 cards to gain insight about the past, present and future through a question. Tarot cards began being used for divination during the 18th century and led to the development of classic decks such as Rider-Waite and Thoth. Traditional decks contain 22 major and 56 minor arcana cards, each card containing their own specific meanings. The major arcana are unsuited cards, while the minor arcana contain a suit (coins/pentacles, swords, wands and cups) and a number from one (ace) to 10, as well as a page, knight, queen and king. Each sign in the zodiac has a prescribed tarot card, whose meaning reflects the essence of one of the 12 sun signs. Take a peek at each sign’s tarot card in the gallery below, then let us know if you believe your card matches your sign on social media.

Aries: The Emperor

The Emperor card represents authority, stability and masculine energy. This card fits Aries to a T because they’re natural leaders who flourish in positions of power and love being on top—both metaphorically and literally!

Taurus: The Hierophant

The Hierophant card represents tradition, knowledge and beliefs. As the most down to Earth sign in the zodiac, this card fits Taurus because it represents searching for what’s really important in life and following tradition to achieve goals.

Gemini: The Lovers

The Lovers card represents harmony, choices and duality. Geminis are all about having options and they thrive in seeing both sides of every situation—using their social skills to charm others to side in their favor.

Cancer: The Chariot

The Chariot card represents control, willpower and action. As a water sign, Cancers can get bogged down by their emotions, so this card encourages them to push forward and bravely conquer whatever is in their path.

Leo: Strength

The Strength card represents courage, influence and compassion. Like the mighty lion who relies on physical strength, Leos have great emotional and spiritual fortitude which helps them to accomplish hardships that come their way.

Virgo: The Hermit

The Hermit card represents introspection and soul-searching. As natural introverts, Virgos can successfully tackle a problem by looking inward and finding the answers from deep within. 

Libra: Justice

The Justice card represents fairness, truth and balance. Libras don’t see the world in black and white, instead seeing all shades of grey. When a problem comes in their path, they need to weigh every option, putting their emotions aside to find the best outcome.

Scorpio: Death

The Death card represents change, transition and transformation. Scorpios are fluid creatures who thrive in reinventing themselves to find success, which only adds to their mysterious allure.

Sagittarius: Temperance

The Temperance card represents moderation, patience and purpose. As the wanderers of the zodiac, it is important for Sagittarians to center and stabilize themselves when faced with a challenge, instead of giving in to the temptation to flee when times get tough.

Capricorn: The Devil

The Devil card represents the shadow-self, addiction and sexuality. Capricorns are often pessimistic, but they can find strength by tapping into this dark side. Instead of letting the devil overtake them, they can assess the negative doubts they have about themselves and replace it with confidence by focusing on their strengths.

Aquarius: The Star

The Star card represents optimism, purpose and renewal. As dreamers, Aquarians are encouraged to focus on hope in times of challenge, as their positivity will carry them through hardships.

Pisces: The Moon

The Moon card represents intuition and emotions. Pisces are water signs, which means they’re highly in tune with their emotions. When faced with a problem, Pisces need to rely on their emotions and intuition, allowing their gut to steer them in the right direction.